Showing posts with label 99%. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 99%. Show all posts

Sunday, January 22, 2012

As Expected

Once I realized that comments on Miss Lying Liar's blog were moderated, I knew there was no way she would publish my comment. I was hoping she might, seeing as there were already some negative comments in the "article" before I found it. I suspect that she decided to moderate her comments after the initial backlash to her attempt at journalism.

The face of inanity 

Once I posted my own blog response, since I knew she would ignore my comment on her blog, I figured that she would either shut up and hide or totally lose her mind and go on a rant about terrorist left wing goons.

Turns out I was half right. She not only ignored my reply, both on her blog and in Facebook (I messaged her my response so she wouldn't miss it), but she removed her blog post altogether, without comment. On the one hand, her hateful and false "article" is no longer being read, which is a good thing, on the other hand, I think her experience over the article might have pushed her over to full-on nutso Tea Party idiot. Her very next post was about squishing "Occupy pimples" and other fun sentiments.

In case you were wondering, I only provided one link and that to the now-dead article. I'd rather not give her any readers or any clicks to make money off of. That being said, don't let me stop you from exercising your right to free speech. I'm sure she'll understand. Me, I think I'm blocked from commenting.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Once again, couldn't resist

Lemme kick it up a notch for ya

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Har Har

I saw an image on Facebook that made me laugh out loud. 




I couldn't resist making my own:

Tuesday, November 01, 2011

Blue Pill, Red Pill

Not to be overly dramatic, but it really does feel kinda 'Alice down the rabbit hole' lately.

I posted my thing on two other Facebook pages, Stephanie Sauter and The Faces of the 99%. From there it went to friends telling me that friends outside of our circle had sent it to them.

Then it made it to some guy named Jeremy Lytle



Someone saw it there and posted it here



 The front page. I also saw it on Reddit with a huge comment section. That's the main thing I guess, people talking, because there are a lot of dumb ideas about what Occupy Whatever is about. Unfortunately there are a lot of dumb ideas within Occupy Whatever about what it's about as well. I don't know if my story fits in what most people think the movement is about, but I think that's part of the problem. There's a lot that needs fixing.

Digression, I duz it.

I had gone to Stephanie's Facebook when I saw her...testimonial, for lack of a better word. Her story sounded similar to mine and it inspired me to make my own. Sorta. I'd had a healthy internet life at one point in my life, and I am better for it, but man, it can be tedious and trying and a bit unnerving at times, but I'd decided a while ago that I was going to have to live a public life if I was going to be an artist.

It's still a bit creepy though, seeing people writing about you, speaking about you, especially when there's no way to speak back. The other side of that is, now I'm worried I said something back there in the basement of my blog that's gonna come back and bite me. I know I couldn't have been good the whole time. My main concern though, is my kid. I don't want some jerk harassing her over something I did. She can totally take care of herself, but still. I did tell my parents about it. I'm sure they're thrilled!

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Careful Where You Put Your Feet

I wouldn't call it viral, but the 99% pic I sent to Faces of the 99% has gotten quite a few hits. It's a little intimidating but kinda cool the way it's spread outward. This being the internet, there are trolls at every turn, waiting to crap on whatever it is they disagree with. The sick thing is they're trolling people who are, for the most part, speaking out in serious pain and fear, and these a-holes are trolling them, telling people afraid of homelessness and death, that 'if they just had a job, they'd be doing better', and worse. It's really disgusting.

I've had this sense that most of these types of people, aside from whatever political views they hold, seem to be unable to think beyond two levels deep. The whole 'consequences of your actions' thing.

I had an argument with a friend a while ago about health insurance. This was when we both had good  jobs and good insurance. His argument was the same one you always hear. The same one an old high school friend trolled one of my Facebook posts.

"I'm tired of paying for something I don't use and will never need."

This is actually what she said.

There's so much wrong with this statement it's kinda sad and infuriating. Both people were saying this as it refers to welfare and taxes. Basically, they're tired of paying taxes that help others, not themselves. When pressed further, the more honest of these cynics will say they're tired of paying taxes for lazy people who are just taking advantage of the system. Some will go even further and parrot the old "I'm tired of giving away my hard-earned money so some lazy fat woman can sit in her house and pump out welfare babies".

I've heard the same argument from people who are sick of paying taxes for public schools because they don't have kids and never will.

These sentiments are perfectly fine and good. You want to believe this is what happens, fine. There's no person on the planet that's going to convince you otherwise. The problem is, when they actually do lose your job or you or a family member comes down with a catastrophic illness, all that foresight and brilliance that got you from there to here isn't going to help you, and my taxes will then be paying to save your necks.

The main issue I have; if you're unwilling to help your fellow American when they need it most, how can you call yourself an American? Why is it that you can't see that thing I keep hearing people like you quote: "There but for the grace of God..." Is it that you think you have God's grace and therefore nothing bad will ever happen to you? Like Job? Mysterious ways and all.

Here's another one: you are amazing, yes, it's true. You got where you are, all by yourself, because you're a smart, hard-working individual. Fine. What about your adult daughter? Your sister? Your father? Did all your foresight and hard work protect them from car accidents, cancer, crime, Alzheimer's, tornadoes? Will your health insurance pay for your non-dependent son's cancer treatments? No, it won't. Do you have enough saved or enough equity in your home to pay for his treatments? No, not unless you're in the 1%. Are you going to let your son die? No, your son is going to NEED welfare.

Or should I assume that you believe your shining example will ensure that your son or daughter or sister or father never loses a job or gets dropped by an insurance company or gets denied due to pre-existing condition?